“My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one. They are not of the world, even as I am not of it … As you sent me into the world, I have sent them into the world … I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.” John 17:15-21

From Man In The Mirror:

How God Has Guided Me

Because God is good, my life has not turned out like I planned.

I didn’t get what I wanted. I spent the first 18 years of my adult life working and praying to achieve something that would have destroyed me, then was disappointed when I was spared. The Bible calls this grace.

I have made many idols. Calvin called men "idol factories." An idol is anything I think I must have to be happy. An idol is anything of which I say, "Jesus Christ alone is not enough to make me happy. I need something else."

Making idols is "success sickness" – the disease of always wanting more, and never being happy when I get it. Failure means to not get what I want, but here’s another way to think of it: Failure means to get what I want, only to find out it didn’t matter.

3 ways God works on me: First, he withholds things I think I can’t live without. Second, he removes things I think I can’t live without. Third, he gives me so much of what I want that I gag on it. He has taken away, and continues to take away, my desire for idols. This, too, is grace. I would call it the brutality of grace.

God did not force me to revere him, but he made it impossible for me to be happy until I did. Ecclesiastes 3:14

Futility is the chief tool by which God has sovereignly drawn me to himself of my own free will. Romans 8:20-21

I am a spiritual rebel who has been conquered by grace.

God has sovereignly orchestrated all the seemingly random circumstances of my life, and it has been good.

In the end, because of futility and grace, I did get what I wanted. It just took a long time to understand what I really wanted – a life saturated with Christ.

The Bible calls this process “discipleship.” As a disciple of Jesus I have learned, and I am still learning, how to abide in Christ. As a result, his joy abides in me. John 15:4-11

I do not know where God is taking me. I no longer need to know. It is enough that he is the one I follow. I suspect that is precisely what Jesus meant when he said, "Follow me." John 10:27-28

Site-seeing:

Co-worker’s website -photoshop illustrations
Svenck Dragracing -lots of photos
dafont.com -free fonts
Love and Logic -child rearing (christian)
City Town Info -look up your city profile
Pamela Lanier’s Bed and Breakfast -rather good resource
Answers.com -online dictionary, encyclopedia, etc…
Anysoldier.US -send a soldier a message/package
Man in the Mirror -bible study

Prayer Request:
Margi and Larry, who have significant issues of health, and for their family during this trial. (long term)
Tim and Debby, as Tim continues to improve and recover, and prayer for their family during this time of illness. (long term)
Our church is having a Bioethics Conference this month (November). Pray for a good turnout, wisdom on the part of the participants and God’s truth illiuminates dark hearts.

~ by thoughtcrime2 on November 3, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
